Notice: Undefined property: Database::$query_show in /www/htdocs/w0105768/lib/class_db.php on line 112
EBC | 010_EBC Welcome


The EBC European Business Congress e.V. is an international non-governmental- non-profit Organisation (NGO) founded in December 1997 in Bonn, Germany. As of May 2015, the EBC has 126 members from 25 OSCE states. Statutory bodies of the EBC are the General Assembly, the Presiding Committee and the Board of Directors.

The President of the EBC is Dr. Alexey Miller, PJSC Gazprom. Vice-president is J├╝rgen Fitschen, Deutsche Bank AG.

    The EBC objectives are:
  • Supporting the development of economic co-operation between and in OSCE-countries
  • Promoting economic development in OSCE countries
  • Promoting a sustainable dialogue between politics and private business

These objectives will be achieved and especially implemented by open and trustful discussion of actual challenges and problems of common interest in the various Working Committees and subsequent formulation of practical solutions

  • passing such results as recommendations on to governments and authorities in OSCE countries as well as to other NGOs
  • promoting an efficient exchange of information between EBC and international organisations and fostering contacts inside
    the EBC and externally
  • promoting co-operation between companies and international organisations
  • organising and supporting conferences and seminars on actual entrepreneurial topics

The core activity of the EBC, which creates its high attractiveness for the members and which distinguishes the EBC as something unique, is to offer a platform for open discussion in the various Working Committees and Sub-Working Groups which convene approx. four times a year. To date seven Working Committees have been formed.

Presiding Committee

The Presiding Committee takes resolutions in meetings convened by the President or Vice-President. The Presiding Committee should meet at least once a year.

Meetings of the Presiding Committee are chaired by the President. They may also be chaired by the Vice-President or another person nominated by the Presiding Committee members in attendance, especially in the absence of the President.

The Presiding Committee is quorate, if at least one-half of its members, including the President or Vice-President, are present. Resolutions are taken by majority of valid votes cast. The Presiding Committee can take resolutions in writing if no member objects to this form of resolution. Minutes must be taken of resolutions and signed by the Presiding Committee member designated to keep the minutes.

Resolutions of the Presiding Committee are announced in public by the President or Vice-President. The members of the Presiding Committee act in an honorary capacity.